Everything You Need To Know About VMware Certifications

IT professionals with virtualization expertise are in great demand today and will continue to be so in the future as well. VMware is one of the most accepted industry leaders when it comes to virtualization. It provides virtualization and cloud computing services and related software. Hence, IT professionals who can leverage VMware services and products are sought-after by organizations. VMware certifications test a professional’s knowledge and skills required to install, deploy, manage, and handle the products and services offered by VMware.

Individuals get a lot of benefits by pursuing the VMware certification. They can acquire a high paid job in well-established companies that run VMware virtualization technologies. Moreover, the business owners can add the badge of “VMware Certified Professionals” on their websites or business cards to tap more customers.

Koenig Solutions is one of the most leading industry experts that offer productive VMware training. It provides top-notch one-to-one training by experienced and skilled tutors. Individuals can pursue any course at their own pace. Let us now go through each VMware certification of both the domains.


VMware Certification Path


  1. VMware VCP6-NV Certification

The VMware Certified Professional 6 – Network Virtualization Certification helps professionals to transform their organization’s functioning of security and network operations. This certification tests the professional’s skills and expertise to install, administer, and configure NSX virtual networking implementations.

To earn this certification, one has to follow the below path:

  • Work with NSX technologies and gain experience
  • Attend the training of any of the below courses and earn VMware NSX Certification
    • VMware NSX: Troubleshooting and Operations
    • VMware NSX: Install, Configure, Manage
    • VMware NSX: Install, Configure, Manage plus Troubleshooting and Operations
    • VMware NSX-T: Install, Configure, Manage v2.2 or v2.4
  • Clear the foundation exam – VMware vSphere 6.7 Foundations Exam 2019
  • Clear VCP – Network Virtualization exam
  1. VMware vShpere6 Foundation Certification

The vSphere Foundation Certification is an entry-level course that tests an individual’s knowledge of basic skills required to deploy VMware vSphere Environments. To pursue the VMware Certified Associate Certification, professionals should take the training courses, as follows:

  • vSphere: Install, Configure, Manage V6.
  • VCP6-CMA, VCP6-DCV, VCP6-NV, and VCP6-DTM.

This certification is intended for candidates who desire to make their professions in the “Foundation” field.

  1. VMware VCP-DCV Certification

The VMware Certified Professional – Datacenter Virtualization (VCP-DCV6 and VCP-DCV 6.5) certification validates candidates for their expertise to install, implement, and manage VMware vSphere environments. Individuals wishing to earn this certification must possess a minimum of six months of working experience in vSphere environments. It is mandatory for beginners to pursue the training of any of the two courses – vSphere6 Foundations Exam or the vShpere6.5 Foundations Exam.

  1. VMware VCP7-CMA Certification

The VCP7-Cloud Management Automation Certification is intended to validate individuals for their skills and knowledge to install, administer, and configure a VMware vRealize environment. This environment helps an organization to automate critical processes related to the Data Center to enhance productivity and efficiency.

Beginners should meet the below criteria to earn this certification:

  • Earn working experience in vRealize and vSphere6.x
  • Should clear the VMware Foundation exam -vSphere 6 or vSphere 6.5
  • Should attend any of the VMware automation courses
  1. VMware VCP7-DTM Certification

The VCP7 – Desktop Mobility certification is specially designed for IT professionals who possess skills to manage and deploy VMware Horizon. This certification validates professionals for their skill sets in designing, managing, and installing VMware Horizon deployed on VMware vSphere implementation with the View environment.

Below are the prerequisites to pursue VCP7-DTM Certification:

  • Experience in Horizon 7.x or 8.x
  • Attend any one of the VMware Horizon courses
  • Should pass any one of the vSphere Foundation exams.
  • Pass the Professional DTM exam
  1. VMware VCAP7-DTM Certification

VMware Certified Advanced Professional 7 – Desktop and Mobility Design Certification tests the professional’s knowledge of designing and integrating VMware Horizon environments. Fresher candidates should qualify below criteria to earn this certification:

  • Pursue VCP-DTM 2021 Certification
  • Attend VMware Horizon 7: Troubleshooting and Performance Optimization [V7.7] training
  • Clear the VCAP7-DTM exam


The VMware certification demonstrates an individual’s abilities and skills to install and optimise the hybrid cloud for regulating VMware processes, enhancing the organization’s productivity and growth. VMware Certified Professionals are offered a significant amount of salaries. Pick the certification that best fits your skills, knowledge, and career, and pursue the training from a leading industry expert, Koenig Solutions.